Opening

4@7
4 November 2017

Exhibition

4 - 22 November 2017
Add to calendar 2017-11-4 10:00:00 2017-11-22 17:00:00 America/New_York Colour, Paint, Beauty & the Grid Looking at Lorena’s work is like inhaling the heady fragrance of a bouquet of flowers. The paintings draw attention to the fleeting moment, the incidental connection, and in doing so they embody the quiet pause, and love of, insightful observation. At its best, each painting is like a novella, a tableau that opens questions, shows glimpses of emotion, presents possible twists, and ultimately exists as a portrait, and a stylish romance. A cinematic kind of atmosphere, full of drama, intensity, bold colour, and human fragility, is suggested within and beyond the frame, where the characters pass through, pause, interact, and we, the audience, catch only glimpses of the whole. The visual language which tells these mini stories is loose, colorful, and expressive, yet still studied, and precise. Lorena seems to apply discipline and playfulness in equal measure in her work, as well as a unique scrutiny and interest in human situations she encounters in their many guises. Each piece is an exciting, vibrant, aesthetic treat that seems to ask us, what are they thinking? What are they feeling?  Are those thoughts and feelings in the subject, in the artist, in you? Kelda Mazzone, BFA   These are all very powerful expressionist works that pay homage to the Fauves (Wild Beasts) of the late (19th and early 20th )whose use of pure and brilliant colours applied directly from the tube created a sensually provocative and political presence before the spectator. The iconic/ironic references to de Stijl and Mondrian in the backgrounds is also worth acknowledging. The reign of Trump? I hope that this is soon over!   Bruce Barber PhD, Professor Media Arts/Art History and Contemporary studies     218 Saint Paul West Montreal, QC, H2Y 1Z9 Galerie Blanche info@galerieblanche.com

Colour, Paint, Beauty & the Grid

Looking at Lorena’s work is like inhaling the heady fragrance of a bouquet of flowers.

The paintings draw attention to the fleeting moment, the incidental connection, and in doing so they embody the quiet pause, and love of, insightful observation. At its best, each painting is like a novella, a tableau that opens questions, shows glimpses of emotion, presents possible twists, and ultimately exists as a portrait, and a stylish romance. A cinematic kind of atmosphere, full of drama, intensity, bold colour, and human fragility, is suggested within and beyond the frame, where the characters pass through, pause, interact, and we, the audience, catch only glimpses of the whole.

The visual language which tells these mini stories is loose, colorful, and expressive, yet still studied, and precise. Lorena seems to apply discipline and playfulness in equal measure in her work, as well as a unique scrutiny and interest in human situations she encounters in their many guises. Each piece is an exciting, vibrant, aesthetic treat that seems to ask us, what are they thinking? What are they feeling?  Are those thoughts and feelings in the subject, in the artist, in you?

Kelda Mazzone, BFA

 

These are all very powerful expressionist works that pay homage to the Fauves (Wild Beasts) of the late (19th and early 20th )whose use of pure and brilliant colours applied directly from the tube created a sensually provocative and political presence before the spectator. The iconic/ironic references to de Stijl and Mondrian in the backgrounds is also worth acknowledging. The reign of Trump? I hope that this is soon over!

 

Bruce Barber PhD, Professor Media Arts/Art History and Contemporary studies

Vernissage

4@7
4 Novembre 2017

Exposition

4 - 22 Novembre 2017
Ajouter au calendrier 2017-11-4 10:00:00 2017-11-22 17:00:00 America/New_York Couleur, beauté, et quadrillage Examiner le travail de Lorena, c’est comme respirer le parfum enivrant d’un bouquet de fleurs. Ses peintures attirent l’attention sur le moment éphémère, la connection fortuite, et ce faisant elles traduisent la pause silencieuse et l’amour de l’observation pénétrante. Chaque peinture est comme une nouvelle, un tableau qui questionne, dévoile des lueurs d’émotion, présente les rebondissements possibles, et existe finalement en tant que portrait et romance raffinée. Une atmosphère d’un genre cinématographique, faite de drame, d’intensité, de couleurs vives, de fragilité humaine, est suggérée au sein et au delà du cadre, là où les personnages traversent, s’arrêtent, interagissent, et nous, public, ne saisissons que quelques bribes de l’ensemble. Le langage visuel qui nous compte ces mini histoires est détaché, coloré et expressif, mais également étudié et précis. Lorena insuffle discipline et espièglerie à mesure égale dans son travail, et fait preuve d’un sens de l’observation et d’un intérêt uniques pour les situations humaines qu’elle rencontre sous de nombreuses formes. Chaque œuvre constitue une excitante, vibrante et esthétique friandise qui suscite une interrogation. Que pensent-ils? Que ressentent-ils? Ces pensées et sentiments sont-ils chez le sujet, chez l’artiste, en vous? Kelda Mazzone, BFA     Ce sont des travaux expressionnistes puissants qui rendent hommage au fauvisme de la fin 19ème – début 20ème où l’utilisation de couleurs pures et brillantes appliquées directement du tube créaient des présences sensuellement provocatrices et politiques aux yeux du spectateur. Les références iconiques et ironiques à de Stijl et Mondrian dans les arrières-plan méritent d’être saluées. Le règne de Trump? J’espère que la fin est proche! Bruce Barber Docteur,Professeur, Arts Médiatiques/Histoire de l’Art et études Contemporaines 218 rue Saint Paul Ouest Montréal, QC, H2Y 1Z9 Galerie Blanche info@galerieblanche.com

Couleur, beauté, et quadrillage

Examiner le travail de Lorena, c’est comme respirer le parfum enivrant d’un bouquet de fleurs.

Ses peintures attirent l’attention sur le moment éphémère, la connection fortuite, et ce faisant elles traduisent la pause silencieuse et l’amour de l’observation pénétrante. Chaque peinture est comme une nouvelle, un tableau qui questionne, dévoile des lueurs d’émotion, présente les rebondissements possibles, et existe finalement en tant que portrait et romance raffinée. Une atmosphère d’un genre cinématographique, faite de drame, d’intensité, de couleurs vives, de fragilité humaine, est suggérée au sein et au delà du cadre, là où les personnages traversent, s’arrêtent, interagissent, et nous, public, ne saisissons que quelques bribes de l’ensemble.

Le langage visuel qui nous compte ces mini histoires est détaché, coloré et expressif, mais également étudié et précis. Lorena insuffle discipline et espièglerie à mesure égale dans son travail, et fait preuve d’un sens de l’observation et d’un intérêt uniques pour les situations humaines qu’elle rencontre sous de nombreuses formes. Chaque œuvre constitue une excitante, vibrante et esthétique friandise qui suscite une interrogation. Que pensent-ils? Que ressentent-ils? Ces pensées et sentiments sont-ils chez le sujet, chez l’artiste, en vous?

Kelda Mazzone, BFA

 

 

Ce sont des travaux expressionnistes puissants qui rendent hommage au fauvisme de la fin 19ème – début 20ème où l’utilisation de couleurs pures et brillantes appliquées directement du tube créaient des présences sensuellement provocatrices et politiques aux yeux du spectateur. Les références iconiques et ironiques à de Stijl et Mondrian dans les arrières-plan méritent d’être saluées. Le règne de Trump? J’espère que la fin est proche!

Bruce Barber Docteur,Professeur,
Arts Médiatiques/Histoire de l’Art et études Contemporaines