Opening

4@7
26 May 2018

Exhibition

26 May - 13 June 2018
Add to calendar 2018-05-26 10:00:00 2018-06-13 17:00:00 America/New_York Un parcours imprévu EXHIBITION CATALOG >   In the Footsteps of Jean-Louis Émond At the mercy of his excursions, Jean-Louis Émond photographs the places that inspire him, in order to hold onto the memories. He therefore assumes the role of observer of the world and detector of beauty, which he sometimes reproduces in his sculptures and paintings. The artist invites the visitors of his exhibition, Un parcours imprévu (An Unpredictable Path), to walk alongside him and discover his recent work (2017-2018). Instead of seeking to write words on paper or recite them orally, Jean-Louis Émond uses his hands to shape the stories that are expressed in his paintings and sculptures. Passionate about the human figure, which he continually revisits, in An Unpredictable Path, he seems to slightly – but resolutely – be shifting direction from portraying feminine and masculine silhouettes, to exploring the adventures of life and the concept of existence. His emblematic sculptures of broken-up bodies, which have always haunted his production, are still present. But this time, they are accompanied by landscapes and architectural elements. These unprecedented motifs nevertheless evoke a leitmotif that is dear to Jean-Louis: movement. Alongside his dismembered characters, who are animated by postures that produce a subtle play of light and shadows, the imagery of bridges, benches, footprints and feet suggests a journey. We of course associate it with travel, but how can it not also bring to mind the journey of life? Exerpt of In the Footsteps of Jean-Louis Émond by Mégane Cantérini in Vie des Arts, translation by Lisa Waite, Spring 2018, no. 250, pp. 44-45 218 Saint Paul West Montreal, QC, H2Y 1Z9 Galerie Blanche info@galerieblanche.com

Un parcours imprévu

 
In the Footsteps of Jean-Louis Émond

At the mercy of his excursions, Jean-Louis Émond photographs the places that inspire him, in order to hold onto the memories. He therefore assumes the role of observer of the world and detector of beauty, which he sometimes reproduces in his sculptures and paintings. The artist invites the visitors of his exhibition, Un parcours imprévu (An Unpredictable Path), to walk alongside him and discover his recent work (2017-2018).

Instead of seeking to write words on paper or recite them orally, Jean-Louis Émond uses his hands to shape the stories that are expressed in his paintings and sculptures. Passionate about the human figure, which he continually revisits, in An Unpredictable Path, he seems to slightly – but resolutely – be shifting direction from portraying feminine and masculine silhouettes, to exploring the adventures of life and the concept of existence. His emblematic sculptures of broken-up bodies, which have always haunted his production, are still present. But this time, they are accompanied by landscapes and architectural elements. These unprecedented motifs nevertheless evoke a leitmotif that is dear to Jean-Louis: movement. Alongside his dismembered characters, who are animated by postures that produce a subtle play of light and shadows, the imagery of bridges, benches, footprints and feet suggests a journey. We of course associate it with travel, but how can it not also bring to mind the journey of life?

Exerpt of In the Footsteps of Jean-Louis Émond by Mégane Cantérini in Vie des Arts, translation by Lisa Waite, Spring 2018, no. 250, pp. 44-45

Vernissage

4@7
26 Mai 2018

Exposition

26 Mai - 13 Juin 2018
Ajouter au calendrier 2018-05-26 10:00:00 2018-06-13 17:00:00 America/New_York UN PARCOURS IMPRÉVU CATALOGUE DE L’EXPOSITION >   Dans les pas de Jean-Louis Émond Au gré de ses excursions, Jean-Louis Émond photographie les lieux qui l’inspirent pour les garder en mémoire. Il se place alors en observateur du monde, en décèle la beauté et, parfois, la reproduit dans des sculptures et des peintures. L’artiste invite ainsi les visiteurs de son exposition Un parcours imprévu à marcher à ses côtés et à découvrir ses travaux récents (2017-2018). Sans recourir à des mots écrits sur papier ou dits à haute voix, Jean-Louis Émond façonne de ses mains des histoires que racontent, grâce à lui, ses tableaux et ses sculptures. Passionné par la figure humaine, vers laquelle il revient sans relâche, il semble pourtant légèrement, mais résolument, détourner son regard des silhouettes féminines et masculines telles quelles au profit d’Un parcours imprévu, celui que ponctuent les aventures de la vie, que l’on appelle l’existence. Ses emblématiques sculptures de corps morcelés, qui hantent sa production de bout en bout, sont toujours présentes, mais elles sont accompagnées, cette fois, de représentations mêlant paysages et architectures. Ces motifs inédits évoquent néanmoins un leitmotiv cher à ]ean-Louis Émond: le mouvement. Aux côtés de ses personnages démembrés, animés par leurs postures que soulignent de subtils jeux d’ombres et de lumières, les ponts, bancs, empreintes de pas et de pieds qu’il expose, suggèrent un cheminement. On l’associe, bien sûr, au voyage, mais comment ne pas remarquer qu’il rappelle aussi celui de la vie? Extrait de l’article de Mégane Cantérini, Dans les pas de Jean-Louis Émond, Vie des Arts, Printemps 2018, no. 250 pp. 44-45         218 rue Saint Paul Ouest Montréal, QC, H2Y 1Z9 Galerie Blanche info@galerieblanche.com

UN PARCOURS IMPRÉVU

 
Dans les pas de Jean-Louis Émond

Au gré de ses excursions, Jean-Louis Émond photographie les lieux qui l’inspirent pour les garder en mémoire. Il se place alors en observateur du monde, en décèle la beauté et, parfois, la reproduit dans des sculptures et des peintures. L’artiste invite ainsi les visiteurs de son exposition Un parcours imprévu à marcher à ses côtés et à découvrir ses travaux récents (2017-2018).

Sans recourir à des mots écrits sur papier ou dits à haute voix, Jean-Louis Émond façonne de ses mains des histoires que racontent, grâce à lui, ses tableaux et ses sculptures. Passionné par la figure humaine, vers laquelle il revient sans relâche, il semble pourtant légèrement, mais résolument, détourner son regard des silhouettes féminines et masculines telles quelles au profit d’Un parcours imprévu, celui que ponctuent les aventures de la vie, que l’on appelle l’existence. Ses emblématiques sculptures de corps morcelés, qui hantent sa production de bout en bout, sont toujours présentes, mais elles sont accompagnées, cette fois, de représentations mêlant paysages et architectures. Ces motifs inédits évoquent néanmoins un leitmotiv cher à ]ean-Louis Émond: le mouvement. Aux côtés de ses personnages démembrés, animés par leurs postures que soulignent de subtils jeux d’ombres et de lumières, les ponts, bancs, empreintes de pas et de pieds qu’il expose, suggèrent un cheminement. On l’associe, bien sûr, au voyage, mais comment ne pas remarquer qu’il rappelle aussi celui de la vie?

Extrait de l’article de Mégane Cantérini, Dans les pas de Jean-Louis Émond, Vie des Arts, Printemps 2018, no. 250 pp. 44-45