Opening

4@7
5 May 2018

Exhibition

5 - 23 May 2018
Add to calendar 2018-05-5 10:00:00 2018-05-23 17:00:00 America/New_York Nous ne sommes pas au monde EXHIBITION CATALOG >   Painter and sculptor, Jérôme Poirier’s, solo exhibition, Nous ne sommes pas au Monde, at Galerie Blanche Montreal, consists of fifteen recent paintings that convey the artist’s preoccupations evoked by three major creation axes in his work: memory, hope and truth. The synthesis of painting, photography and xylography, which Jérôme Poirier brings together on a single surface, involves technical challenges, while enabling him to explore the ins and outs of the “confrontational” pictorial space, as the artist refers to it. The space between reason and emotion. According to him, truth lies in the sensory experience. (…) in concrete terms, the subject matter for his painting is drawn from quick sketches inspired by snapshots taken of people in the urban environment during his photographic outings. His characters, which he refers to as “aesthetes,” are rendered with astonishing realism, and convey specific formal and aesthetic points of view. In the piece Externalization, the artist seeks out the internalization and externalization mechanisms of rational thought. He evokes the human’s subjective perception of a dog, and mental structuring (geometric forms), then a figurative representation of the subject. (…) (…) The artist strikes a balance in the bipolarity of the work. He juxtaposes the decorative elements, which he refers to as full (visible) with the barren space (the void), which plays a more and more dominating role. “Decorative accessories are superfluous, as they change the look of things,” explains the painter. In fact, his masculine and feminine characters are bald-headed, and they wear purely utilitarian clothing. His imagery alternates between masses, muted and neutral colours, and traits that are sharp one minute then blurry the next. Jérôme Poirier considers the concept of the afterlife so precious that he renders it with gilding, as seen in the painting, Magnificent moment. Excerpt from Nathalie Roy, L’immatériel soudain prend corps, Vie des Arts, Spring 2018, no. 250, pp. 42-43 Translation by Lisa Waite 218 Saint Paul West Montreal, QC, H2Y 1Z9 Galerie Blanche info@galerieblanche.com

Nous ne sommes pas au monde

 
Painter and sculptor, Jérôme Poirier’s, solo exhibition, Nous ne sommes pas au Monde, at Galerie Blanche Montreal, consists of fifteen recent paintings that convey the artist’s preoccupations evoked by three major creation axes in his work: memory, hope and truth.

The synthesis of painting, photography and xylography, which Jérôme Poirier brings together on a single surface, involves technical challenges, while enabling him to explore the ins and outs of the “confrontational” pictorial space, as the artist refers to it. The space between reason and emotion. According to him, truth lies in the sensory experience. (…) in concrete terms, the subject matter for his painting is drawn from quick sketches inspired by snapshots taken of people in the urban environment during his photographic outings. His characters, which he refers to as “aesthetes,” are rendered with astonishing realism, and convey specific formal and aesthetic points of view. In the piece Externalization, the artist seeks out the internalization and externalization mechanisms of rational thought. He evokes the human’s subjective perception of a dog, and mental structuring (geometric forms), then a figurative representation of the subject. (…)

(…) The artist strikes a balance in the bipolarity of the work. He juxtaposes the decorative elements, which he refers to as full (visible) with the barren space (the void), which plays a more and more dominating role. “Decorative accessories are superfluous, as they change the look of things,” explains the painter. In fact, his masculine and feminine characters are bald-headed, and they wear purely utilitarian clothing. His imagery alternates between masses, muted and neutral colours, and traits that are sharp one minute then blurry the next. Jérôme Poirier considers the concept of the afterlife so precious that he renders it with gilding, as seen in the painting, Magnificent moment.

Excerpt from Nathalie Roy, L’immatériel soudain prend corps, Vie des Arts, Spring 2018, no. 250, pp. 42-43 Translation by Lisa Waite

Vernissage

4@7
5 Mai 2018

Exposition

5 - 23 Mai 2018
Ajouter au calendrier 2018-05-5 10:00:00 2018-05-23 17:00:00 America/New_York Nous ne sommes pas au monde CATALOGUE DE L’EXPOSITION >   L’exposition solo « Nous ne sommes pas au Monde », du peintre et sculpteur Jérôme Poirier, compte une quinzaine de tableaux récents qui relaient les préoccupations de l’artiste pour la mémoire, l‘espérance et la vérité: grands axes de création de son travail. La synthèse de la peinture, de la photographie et de la xylographie que Jérôme Poirier produit sur un même support, comporte des difficultés techniques, mais lui permet d’explorer les tenants et aboutissants dans l’espace pictural de la « confrontation » comme l’appelle l‘artiste, entre raison et émotion. (…) Concrètement, Poirier puise matière à tableau parmi les centaines de clichés de personnes croquées sur le vif dans des scènes urbaines tirées de ses sorties photographiques. Ses personnages qu’il nomme « esthètes » sont d’un réalisme étonnant et transmettent un point de vue esthétique et formel particulier. (…) L‘artiste équilibre la bipolarité de l‘œuvre: en juxtaposant l’élément décoratif, ce qu’il nomme le plein (le visible), et l’espace dépouillé (le vide) qui occupe une place de plus en plus prépondérante. «L’accessoire décoratif est superflu, car il change l’aspect des choses», explique le peintre. De fait, ses personnages masculins et féminins sont dépourvus de chevelure; quant à leurs vêtements, ils n’ont qu’une fonction utilitaire. Les masses, les couleurs sourdes et neutres et les traits tantôt nets tantôt flous alternent. Jérôme Poirier considère la notion de l’au-delà si précieuse qu’il la matérialise par des dorures, comme on le voit dans le tableau L’instant magnifique. Extrait de « L’immatériel soudain prend corps » Nathalie Roy, Vie des Arts, printemps 2018, no. 250, p. 42-43 218 rue Saint Paul Ouest Montréal, QC, H2Y 1Z9 Galerie Blanche info@galerieblanche.com

Nous ne sommes pas au monde

 
L’exposition solo « Nous ne sommes pas au Monde », du peintre et sculpteur Jérôme Poirier, compte une quinzaine de tableaux récents qui relaient les préoccupations de l’artiste pour la mémoire, l‘espérance et la vérité: grands axes de création de son travail.

La synthèse de la peinture, de la photographie et de la xylographie que Jérôme Poirier produit sur un même support, comporte des difficultés techniques, mais lui permet d’explorer les tenants et aboutissants dans l’espace pictural de la « confrontation » comme l’appelle l‘artiste, entre raison et émotion. (…) Concrètement, Poirier puise matière à tableau parmi les centaines de clichés de personnes croquées sur le vif dans des scènes urbaines tirées de ses sorties photographiques. Ses personnages qu’il nomme « esthètes » sont d’un réalisme étonnant et transmettent un point de vue esthétique et formel particulier.

(…) L‘artiste équilibre la bipolarité de l‘œuvre: en juxtaposant l’élément décoratif, ce qu’il nomme le plein (le visible), et l’espace dépouillé (le vide) qui occupe une place de plus en plus prépondérante. «L’accessoire décoratif est superflu, car il change l’aspect des choses», explique le peintre. De fait, ses personnages masculins et féminins sont dépourvus de chevelure; quant à leurs vêtements, ils n’ont qu’une fonction utilitaire. Les masses, les couleurs sourdes et neutres et les traits tantôt nets tantôt flous alternent. Jérôme Poirier considère la notion de l’au-delà si précieuse qu’il la matérialise par des dorures, comme on le voit dans le tableau L’instant magnifique.

Extrait de « L’immatériel soudain prend corps » Nathalie Roy, Vie des Arts, printemps 2018, no. 250, p. 42-43