ADD TO YOUR WISHLIST / SHARE WITH A FRIEND
MOSAIC DISPLAY
CAROUSEL DISPLAY

You just added an article to your wishlist.

All your favorite artworks will remain in your wishlist.

You can consult it, make changes or share it with us by clicking the icon.

Ils nous regardent X

Year: 2019

Size: 36" x 48"

Ils nous regardent 2

Year: 2017

Size: 30" x 48"

Ils nous regardent 3

Year: 2017

Size: 30" x 48"

Elles nous regardent 4

SOLD

Artwork information

x

Details of the artwork
Artist information

Marie Montiel

artistic approach: 

For Marie Montiel thinking and painting are two inseparable elements. Painting is the essential way to crystallise her ideas, thoughts and concerns.
She has lived part of her childhood in a medieval dungeon. This historical site left its marks on her mind and imagination: so many elapsed centuries and so many lives have shaped these walls. There she has developed her interest for human condition, for contemplation of the world and in particular for painting, the kind which went through centuries and whose freshness stills remains to this day.
Marie Montiel’s pictorial technique is an essential set of skills acquired through her studies in Fine Art in Montreal as well as in Europe. Oil is her medium of choice. Each and every painting requires an infinite patience. Drawings, sketches, grisaille, all is good to bring the work of art from out of limbo where it was sleeping. Then come colours, hues and harmonies which complete the process of giving life to the picture inhabiting her spirit. Oil pigments, the wide range of thinners and siccatives delight her because of their malleability and versatility. They allow her to use and control opacities and transparencies, impasto or glazes which she carefully applies over the canvas in thin successive layers.
Her creative process is slow and thoughtful. Her figurative style is nurtured by observing our contemporaneity. Her realistic style is highlighted with abstract touches throughout the work. Painting is a knowledge tool. It allows her to study people as well as things. It also helps her to become a witness of our era and its major questions. She tells of a precise moment in time, a feeling or a thought observed on a face or an object. The atmosphere, the pose, the gesture but also the colours or texture express on canvas Marie Montiel’s personal vision of subject matters.
Universality of emotions and attitudes within humans as well as animals is the main focus of Marie Montiel’s work. She testifies of this through her work and she hopes that it will trigger in the spectator a reflection and soul-searching process.

ADD TO YOUR WISHLIST / SHARE WITH A FRIEND
MOSAIC DISPLAY
CAROUSEL DISPLAY

Vous venez d'ajouter une oeuvre à votre wishlist.

La wishlist est un endroit qui regroupe tous vos coups de coeur.

Vous pouvez la consulter, l'éditer ou nous l'envoyer en survolant l'icône du menu.

Elles nous regardent V

Année: 2019

Taille: 30" x 48"

Ils nous regardent X

Année: 2019

Taille: 36" x 48"

Ils nous regardent 2

Année: 2017

Taille: 30" x 48"

Ils nous regardent 3

Année: 2017

Taille: 30" x 48"

Elles nous regardent 4

VENDUE

Oeuvre

x

* Les taux de change fluctuent et dépendent de votre banque ou carte bancaire utilisée
Détails de l'oeuvre
Artiste

Marie Montiel

Approche artistique: 

La peinture est le vecteur matériel qui donne corps aux pensées et aux préoccupations de l’artiste peintre figurative contemporaine Marie Montiel.
Elle a vécu une partie de son enfance dans un donjon médiéval en France. Ce lieu historique a marqué son imaginaire : tant de siècles écoulés et tant de vies ont façonné ces murs. Elle y a développé son intérêt pour la condition humaine, pour la contemplation de notre monde et en particulier pour la peinture, celle qui a traversé les siècles et dont la fraîcheur nous est parvenue intacte.
Sa technique picturale est un amalgame de compétences acquises au fil de ses études de beaux-arts tant à Montréal qu’en Europe. L’huile est son médium de prédilection. Chaque tableau requiert une infinie patience. Dessins, esquisses, grisailles, tout est bon pour sortir l’œuvre des limbes où elle sommeille. Viennent ensuite les couleurs, les teintes et les harmonies qui achèvent d’insuffler la vie à l’image qui habite son imaginaire. Les pigments à l’huile, la variété des diluants et des siccatifs l’enchantent par leur malléabilité et leur polyvalence. Ils lui permettent les opaques et les transparences, les empâtements ou les glacis qu’elle s’applique à déposer sur la toile en fines couches successives.
Son processus de création est lent et réfléchi. Son style figuratif se nourrit de l’observation de notre contemporanéité. Le réalisme de son travail se teinte de touches abstraites en filigrane. La peinture demeure un outil de connaissance. Elle lui permet l’étude des êtres et des choses. Elle l’aide à témoigner de notre époque et de ses questionnements. Elle raconte un moment précis, un ressenti ou une pensée observée sur un visage ou sur un objet. L’ambiance, la pose, le geste mais aussi les couleurs ou la texture donnent au tableau sa vision personnelle des sujets.
L’universalité des émotions et des attitudes, tant de l’humain que de l’animal, est le centre d’intérêt de son travail. Montiel en témoigne par les œuvres de cette nouvelle série de tableaux intitulée Ils/Elles nous regardent. Elle souhaite que le spectateur y trouve un temps de réflexion et d’introspection dans l’intimité de son âme.