Exhibition

14 - 15 2020
Add to calendar 2020-04-14 10:00:00 2020-05-15 17:00:00 America/New_York VISAGE FACE TO FACE by Mélissa Pelletier I experience a certain reluctance when it comes to talking about my work. I find that words cannot describe my ideas, confesses Dale Dunning. An interview with an artist who would rather let his art be the talking head. Creating is my only talent, laughs the Canadian sculptor. Dale Dunning developed his passion back in 1965 when he earned a Bachelor of Fine Arts at Mount Allison University in New Brunswick, followed by a Master’s degree at the Cranbrook Academy of Art in Michigan. I fell in love with sculpture. When I finished school, I decided to follow my muse, he recounts. The artist soon became fascinated with heads, creating hundreds of them exclusively in metal. These objects are small, large, colorful, dark, delicate or rough but they are always unique and always evocative. Where do I get my inspiration? It’s actually quite mysterious. I often compare my art to music. Everyone responds to it in a personal way. In other words I have no particular message. This approach is no doubt what makes Dunning’s work so universal. The heads I sculpte have no gender, race or specific identity. They can be seen as a mirror, reflecting feelings and memories unique to the observer’s personal experience. Excerpt from Dale Dunning Face to Face in Mixte Magazine, no. 38, p. 181 218 Saint Paul West Montreal, QC, H2Y 1Z9 Galerie Blanche info@galerieblanche.com

VISAGE

FACE TO FACE

by Mélissa Pelletier

I experience a certain reluctance when it comes to talking about my work. I find that words cannot describe my ideas, confesses Dale Dunning. An interview with an artist who would rather let his art be the talking head.

Creating is my only talent, laughs the Canadian sculptor. Dale Dunning developed his passion back in 1965 when he earned a Bachelor of Fine Arts at Mount Allison University in New Brunswick, followed by a Master’s degree at the Cranbrook Academy of Art in Michigan. I fell in love with sculpture. When I finished school, I decided to follow my muse, he recounts.

The artist soon became fascinated with heads, creating hundreds of them exclusively in metal. These objects are small, large, colorful, dark, delicate or rough but they are always unique and always evocative.

Where do I get my inspiration? It’s actually quite mysterious. I often compare my art to music. Everyone responds to it in a personal way. In other words I have no particular message.

This approach is no doubt what makes Dunning’s work so universal. The heads I sculpte have no gender, race or specific identity. They can be seen as a mirror, reflecting feelings and memories unique to the observer’s personal experience.

Excerpt from Dale Dunning Face to Face in Mixte Magazine, no. 38, p. 181

Exhibited artworks

Dale Dunning - Silver Peel

20" x 23" x 9" - Aluminium

Dale Dunning - Sophist

17" x 15" x 10" - Bronze

Dale Dunning - Triangulum

28" x 17" x 8" - Acier

Dale Dunning - Nimbus II

32" x 20" x 10" - Acier

Dale Dunning - Letters

35" x 39" x 9" - Aluminium

Dale Dunning - Inside Out

96" x 48" x 16" - Acier inoxydable

Dale Dunning - Good Vibrations

28" x 18" x 9" - Aluminium

Dale Dunning - Good Vibrations II

29" x 18" x 9" - Aluminium

Dale Dunning - Aura II

45" x 36" x 10" - Acier inoxydable

Dale Dunning - Soritical Head Silver

14" x 8" x 15" - Vis d'acier

Dale Dunning - Silver Maple

44" x 36" x 12" - Aluminium

Dale Dunning - Icarus 1/1

39" x 27" x 8" - Aluminium et bronze

Dale Dunning - Out of the Fire

39" x 19" x 15" - Clé en acier

Dale Dunning - Horizontal Hold

29" x 18" x 9" - Aluminium

Exposition

14 - 15 2020
Ajouter au calendrier 2020-04-14 10:00:00 2020-05-15 17:00:00 America/New_York VISAGE FACE À L’AUTRE par Mélissa Pelletier Quand il est question de parler de mon travail, j’éprouve une certaine résistance. Les mots n’arrivent pas à définir mes idées. avoue d’emblée Dale Dunning comme pour mieux laisser la parole aux impressionnantes sculptures qui ont fait sa renommée. Créer, c’est mon seul talent, lance en riant le sculpteur canadien. Une passion qu’il a développée dès 1965 en s’engageant dans une formation aux beaux-arts à l’Université Mount Allison au Nouveau-Brunswick., pour ensuite poursuivre à la Cranbrook Academy of Art au Michigan. Je me suis pris d’amour pour la sculpture. Quand j’ai terminé mes études, j’ai décidé de continuer dans cette voie, raconte- t-il. La tête humaine deviendra rapidement un objet de fascination pour l’artiste qui en crée des centaines exclusivement en métal. Petites, énormes, colorées, sombres, délicates, brutes… toujours uniques, toujours évocatrices. D’où vient mon inspiration? C’est assez mystérieux. Je compare souvent mon art à la musique. Chacun y répond d’une manière toute personnelle. En d’autres mots, je n’ai pas de message. C’est sûrement ce qui rend les oeuvres de édale Dunning aussi universelles. Les têtes que je sculpte non pas de sexe, ni de race ou d’identité. tout le monde peut s’y voir comme dans un miroir qui un miroir qui reflète des sentiments et des souvenirs selon l’expérience personnelle. Extrait de Dale Dunning Face à l’autre in Mixte Magazine, no. 38, p. 181 218 rue Saint Paul Ouest Montréal, QC, H2Y 1Z9 Galerie Blanche info@galerieblanche.com

VISAGE

FACE À L’AUTRE

par Mélissa Pelletier

Quand il est question de parler de mon travail, j’éprouve une certaine résistance. Les mots n’arrivent pas à définir mes idées. avoue d’emblée Dale Dunning comme pour mieux laisser la parole aux impressionnantes sculptures qui ont fait sa renommée.

Créer, c’est mon seul talent, lance en riant le sculpteur canadien. Une passion qu’il a développée dès 1965 en s’engageant dans une formation aux beaux-arts à l’Université Mount Allison au Nouveau-Brunswick., pour ensuite poursuivre à la Cranbrook Academy of Art au Michigan. Je me suis pris d’amour pour la sculpture. Quand j’ai terminé mes études, j’ai décidé de continuer dans cette voie, raconte- t-il.

La tête humaine deviendra rapidement un objet de fascination pour l’artiste qui en crée des centaines exclusivement en métal. Petites, énormes, colorées, sombres, délicates, brutes… toujours uniques, toujours évocatrices.

D’où vient mon inspiration? C’est assez mystérieux. Je compare souvent mon art à la musique. Chacun y répond d’une manière toute personnelle. En d’autres mots, je n’ai pas de message.

C’est sûrement ce qui rend les oeuvres de édale Dunning aussi universelles.

Les têtes que je sculpte non pas de sexe, ni de race ou d’identité. tout le monde peut s’y voir comme dans un miroir qui un miroir qui reflète des sentiments et des souvenirs selon l’expérience personnelle.

Extrait de Dale Dunning Face à l’autre in Mixte Magazine, no. 38, p. 181

Oeuvres exposées

Dale Dunning - Silver Peel

20" x 23" x 9" - Aluminium

Dale Dunning - Sophist

17" x 15" x 10" - Bronze

Dale Dunning - Triangulum

28" x 17" x 8" - Acier

Dale Dunning - Nimbus II

32" x 20" x 10" - Acier

Dale Dunning - Letters

35" x 39" x 9" - Aluminium

Dale Dunning - Inside Out

96" x 48" x 16" - Acier inoxydable

Dale Dunning - Good Vibrations

28" x 18" x 9" - Aluminium

Dale Dunning - Aura II

45" x 36" x 10" - Acier inoxydable

Dale Dunning - Soritical Head Silver

14" x 8" x 15" - Vis d'acier

Dale Dunning - Silver Maple

44" x 36" x 12" - Aluminium

Dale Dunning - Icarus 1/1

39" x 27" x 8" - Aluminium et bronze

Dale Dunning - Out of the Fire

39" x 19" x 15" - Clé en acier

Dale Dunning - Good Vibrations II

29" x 18" x 9" - Aluminium